You Should Be Here by Cole Swindell

cwms4z5ukaeadia

I’m not one person to sugarcoat things when it comes to sad songs, especially with country music. There are MANY songs out there that I have listened to that hit me right in the feels and I will just start bawling like a baby (“House That Built Me” by Miranda Lambert; “I Drive Your Truck” by Lee Brice, “Drink A Beer” by Luke Bryan, to name a few) and may have to change the radio station so my friends don’t see me cry.

And then I heard this gem by a man who has had 4 #1 singles and an ACM New Artist of the Year under his belt.  But the more I listen to this song, the more I realize how not just I relate to this song, but how many other people can relate to this song as well.

Cole pays homage in “You Should Be Here” to his late father who passed away in 2013 during his radio tour. The video starts off with Cole and his dad talking on the phone the day that Cole got his record deal. I think the favorite thing I like about the video is not how it’s just all black and white. But trust me I was crying my eyes out just watching the video and had to pause it for a minute before I could hit play again.

I have many friends and family members who have left this earth. The one thing that really hit close to home when I listened to “You Should Be Here” was the memory of when my mom called and told me my grandma had passed away two days before I graduated from college. That was tough because the last time I saw her was around Easter weekend and she was in hospice care and was slowing slipping away. I just wanted God to not let her leave so soon, but unfortunately that wasn’t in his plan and she went to be with the Lord on May 5th, 2011.

I would highly recommend that everyone listen to Cole Swindell’s single “You Should Be Here.” It’s a great song that is just so meaningful in so many ways. And I know that Cole’s dad is smiling down on him from Heaven and he’s so proud of his son and everything that Cole has accomplished!

If you haven’t listened to Cole’s new single “You Should Be Here,” click on the link below:

You Should Be Here by Cole Swindell

 

Leave a Reply

